More ado about “ado”

10Nov04

I’m just not making any progress on the ado issue. Look what a co-worker just wrote:

Without further a due, let’s see what’s involved.

Seriously, it’s a three-letter word. Why can’t people figure it out?

I just called over another coworker. “How would you spell ‘ado’?” I asked, giving him a pen and a scrap of paper. “You know, as in ‘Without further ado.'”

Adieu, he wrote. I shook my head sadly. Why doesn’t anybody know anything?

“Hey,” he asked. “While I’m here, you know how a signature is called a ‘John Hancock’? Where does that come from?”

I put my head down on my desk.



No Responses Yet to “More ado about “ado””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

