I was told that I could listen to the radio at a reasonable volume from nine to eleven

18Aug05

I stopped by a co-worker’s cubicle to drop something off at about 4:00 p.m. She had a radio playing quietly. “You’re listening to EZ-Rock!” it chirped. So I told her off.

“You know why you listen to EZ-Rock?” I said. “Because you can’t handle complicated rock. Hard rock is too hard. There’s no prog rock on that station. No math rock. No Rush, no King Crimson, no Yes. You will not find 7/16 time signatures — just a simple 4/4 beat. No complex time signatures. No unusual chord changes. No technically proficient guitar shredding. No extended song suites. No neoclassical composition. No two-handed tapping. No unusual lyrical imagery — just ‘She loves you, yeah, yeah, yeah.’ It’s got to be as easy as 1-2-3 for you: One beat, two chords, three minutes long. That’s all you can handle.”

Then the 4:00 p.m. traffic report came on, so I scolded her for being presumptuous and wanting to know the road conditions so she could try to slip out of work early.



4 Responses to “I was told that I could listen to the radio at a reasonable volume from nine to eleven”

  1. 1 Anonymous

    your just gellous becuze you have 2 prop up yr ego with fancy musiks.4 shame!

  2. 2 Professor Von Science

    Sweet titties, Lynn, didja see this?http://www.bpninc.com/evideo/video_mac_hi.mov

  3. 3 Peter Lynn

    Whoa! Prince is reading my blog and posting anonymously! Don’t worry sir; I love your music too.Prof: That was like all two hours of Deliverance compressed into a Max Headroom blipvert. Made me nostalgic for Brockville somehow.

  4. 4 John Eje Thelin

    Man, that’s what I *wish* I could tell people, but I work at home, and my wife already likes Yes.


Leave a Reply

