On the other hand

22Nov05

I shouldn’t complain. One of my co-workers worked until the ungodly hour of 1:30 a.m. last night. And he had the poor sense to take an all-day energy supplement at 11:00, only to discover that it works as an all-night supplement too. After a few sleepless hours of tossing and turning and sitting in his underwear on his couch staring into the darkness, he found himself back at work by 5:30 a.m.

By the time we finished up tonight, he’d been awake for about 38 straight hours. He offered me a lift home, and I accepted, partly out of concern that he might fall asleep at the wheel and kill himself and partly in hopes that he might fall asleep at the wheel and kill us both. (Tomorrow looks like a rough day too.)

When we got to my house, he got out for a lungful of crisp, cold air to revive himself. “Thank you for the ride, sir,” I said, extending my hand. He took off his leather glove to shake hands.

“May I see that?” I asked. He handed me his glove. I slapped him hard across the face with it.

“Hey!” he said.

“To wake you up,” I explained.

“Oh,” he said. “Thank you!”

Any day you get to slap a co-worker across the face and have him thank you is not a wholly terrible day. He did turn down my follow-up offer to key his car, though.



3 Responses to “On the other hand”

  1. 1 babyjewels

    hysterical. I’m going to try it the next time one of my coworkers looks the least bit tired.

  2. 2 Matt

    I’m just going to keep doing that thing where I walk down the hall, swinging my arms and pretending not to watch where I’m going, so that I can punch people in the groin.


  1. 1 A dog in a man suit « Man vs. Clown!

Leave a Reply

