When I was a little girl

29Nov05

One of my co-workers just returned to work after contracting a case of thrush mouth. Although thrush primarily afflicts infants, it not only sounds like an old-timey sort of disease like dropsy, but also in fact makes her voice tremulous and croaky like an old lady’s. (As soon as I heard her speak, I reflexively pulled down her turtleneck a bit to check for a tracheotomy.) So naturally, I’m compelled to do imitations of her remembering her childhood at the turn of the 19th century:

“When I was a little girl, we used to take the ferry over to go swimming at the beach. The beaches were segregated then. Men bathed at one end, and women bathed at another. Coloured men bathed at another end, and coloured women bathed at yet another. Beaches had more ends then, being square, which made it hard for the ferry to land in the first place. There was less of everything else back then, except thrush and dropsy, but the beaches had more ends.”



3 Responses to “When I was a little girl”

  1. 1 Oana

    How does a healthy adult get thrush mouth (oral candidiasis)? I thought it was something only babies, people with depressed immune systems, and maybe people with REALLY bad oral hygiene get?

  2. 2 Anonymous

    I got it once in adulthood because I was in the habit of taking an asthma inhaler after brushing my teeth at night and in the morning. Now I take it before performing my oral hygenics.

  3. 3 Peter Lynn

    I honestly thought thrush was something you got from eating a bird of some sort.


Leave a Reply

