How to make the new girl run over to your desk in a panic

22Dec05

E-mail from the new girl as she resubmitted some text I looked at yesterday:

Hi Peter,

Here is the text for the February column. There has been some additions to the text.

Thanks!

My response:

Okay, I’ll take them out. Thanks.

I never get tired of this kind of joke.



4 Responses to “How to make the new girl run over to your desk in a panic”

  1. 1 N

    Is the person who wrote “there has been some additions” a copy-editor? Because, if so, I could do her job better.

  2. 2 Peter Lynn

    Yeah, I noticed that too. People like her keep me employed, though. And she’s not only new but cute too, so I won’t knock her. I’ve tormented her a little more, though. I returned a tracking sheet to her by slipping it into a drawer she had open rather than handing it to her. She subsequently misplaced it and couldn’t figure out if I’d given it to her at all. Then when I returned the next one to her, I slipped it under her filing cabinet “with the other one.”

  3. 3 Peter Lynn

    Oh, and I should have actually mentioned that she’s a mere copy writer.

  4. 4 Scott

    And I never get tired of hearing that kind of joke, Pete. Some serious blurting of laughter taking place here. Thanks, buddy.


Leave a Reply

