I’m also so busy my homespun saying are coming unravelled

13Feb06

I’m as busy as a one-legged man in a room full of rocking chairs. Or something like that.

I think I’ve hit on a way of saving time, though. That creepy guy one of my co-workers used to work with who only said about five or six things ever might have been on to something that I think I can use minimize conversation with the jackals who constantly hound me about their emergency projects.

First, I’m not answering the phone or e-mail anymore. People who really want to bother me can come to my desk. For these people, I’ve made six signs and tacked them to my cubicle wall, and I’m pretty sure I can get through a typical conversation by simply pointing to each appropriate sign in turn without needing to waste my breath speaking. This frees me up to either glare at them in stony silence or, if I memorize the signs’ locations well enough, remain quiet while keeping my eyes pointedly trained on my current work. They read as follows:

  • GET TO THE POINT
  • YES
  • NO
  • I DON’T KNOW
  • LATER
  • AS SOON AS I CAN

I may eventually add signs that read TOO BUSY and THIS IS YOUR FAULT. We’ll see how it goes.



One Response to “I’m also so busy my homespun saying are coming unravelled”

  1. 1 Steve Ely

    This may very well lead simply to further inefficiency or, hopefully, to chaos and confusion.


Leave a Reply

