Deadpan again

29Mar06

Even though we’re in the middle of the city, we regularly see deer in the small patch of woods outside our windows. Now that it’s spring, they’re back, and one of the girls saw one for the first time today.

Her: I saw a deer this morning!

Me: Yeah, it’s hunting season again.

Her: You hunt?

Me: Sure. I go back to the nature trail and hunt at lunch sometimes. I have a blind up in one of the trees.

Her: What?!

Me: You can’t have firearms within city limits, so I just bowhunt.

Her: Really?!

Me: No.

Her: Oh, for God’s sake.



8 Responses to “Deadpan again”

  1. 1 Dickolas Wang

    Does the confusion and embarrassment of the younger generation amuse you, Mr. Lynn?

  2. 2 Dickolas Wang

    Me too.

  3. 3 Peter Lynn

    Of course it does. Although my favorite gullible co-worker was actually five years older than me.

  4. 4 Anonymous

    you see, now there’s tea on my laptop. and in my nostrils. dedpanmaster!

  5. 5 James

    Man. You have one stupid coworker.

  6. 6 cjs

    ignorance is bliss right?

  7. 7 Peter Lynn

    I have one blissful co-worker. Although this was a different girl than the intern yesterday, so I in fact have two.

  8. 8 Kendal

    That’s not funny [okay, it is], it’s cruel!You remind me of one of the guys I work with, he has convinced me on two separate occasions that he has tattos all over his back and he used to be in the army.I can’t help being young, naive and trusting.


Leave a Reply

