Lost Cannon

19May06

Photobucket - Video and Image HostingTomorrow is the first anniversary of the death of character actor J.D. Cannon, who is best remembered as the apoplectic Chief Clifford on McCloud. (He always looked like a mean Don Adams to me.)

In his honour, the next time I do something praiseworthy at work, I’ve asked my boss to bawl me out by calling me a cowboy, a maverick, and a loose cannon who runs around half-cocked, recklessly playing by my own rules like some kind of renegade without giving a proper damn about procedure, being an out-of-control menace to society, and putting the whole department in jeopardy of being taken down with me, before grudgingly admitting that my unconventional methods get results.



3 Responses to “Lost Cannon”

  1. 1 TinaPoPo

    Please tell me your boss went along with this suggestion.

  2. 2 Matt

    I’ve started telling people at my office that I’m getting too old for this shit.

  3. 3 Peter Lynn

    He thought it was funny, but I don’t know. I was trying to get him to yell at me like Gunnery Sergeant Hartman from Full Metal Jacket a couple of weeks ago, but he’s just too nice. But I’ve had a few of the guys doing this around the office. I even told our director of marketing he was a loose cannon, which he really enjoyed.


Leave a Reply

