Bedazzled

26May06

Today I had one of the girls at work do that Personality Defect Test I mentioned before. “I’m a Haughty Intellectual,” she reported when she was done.

“I knew you were a hottie,” I said. “And we all knew you’re smart.” She smiled.

I have my moments. One of the other girls was mentioning a pretty former co-worker, then stopped, incorrectly thinking she’d been before my time. “I remember her,” I said. “I know our tradition of hiring pretty girls didn’t start with you.” That’s not even necessarily a compliment. It might even be an insult. But she chose to take it in a way that made her day anyway.

But I don’t know why I compared yet a third girl to the Dazzler, Marvel Comics’ disco-influenced mutant heroine with the ability to convert sound into light. It might have had something to do with her plans to catch the new X-Men movie tonight, and it might have had something to do with her talking about wearing shiny fabrics. (It probably didn’t have anything to do with the enormous breasts straight out of a John Romita comic.) At least the geekiness of my reference was offset by my initially referring to the character as the Bedazzler, which is that device you use to put studs and rhinestones all over your clothing (not to mention the reason I had Glen Campbell’s “Rhinestone Cowboy” stuck in my head for the rest of the day.

Anyway, after explaining about the Dazzler, I mentioned that the looks of many comic book characters were heavily influenced by popular fashion during the disco era. For example, DC Comics routinely depicted Superman as wearing bell-bottoms during the 1970s. He also sported a spread, wide-lapeled collar; a pentagonal medallion bearing his insignia; and, for the only time during his history, a thick rug of chest hair. Also, instead of being made of an indestructible Kryptonian fabric, his costume was made of indestructible polyester.

All of this was accepted without question.



One Response to “Bedazzled”

  1. 1 Chance

    It’s certainly as credible as anything else in comics.


Leave a Reply

