The Mark of the Beast

03Nov06

“Good evening, may I speak to Mr. Peter Lynn, please?”

“This is Peter Lynn.”

“Good evening, Mr. Lynn. My name is Joanne and I’m calling on behalf of Capital One MasterCard. I’m happy to tell you that you have been preapproved for a special offer of a MasterCard with a special introductory rate of 4.9%. Now, to get you started, I just need to confirm some information, starting with the spelling of your first name.”

“No thank you. I’m not interested.”

“Well, may I ask what doesn’t interest you about this offer, Mr. Lynn?”

“It is unholy.”

“All right, thank you, Mr. Lynn. Have a good night.”

* * *

I’m almost disappointed this ended the conversation so quickly. I didn’t even get to quote the Book of Revelation and argue that credit card numbers are the Antichrist’s mark of commerce.



No Responses Yet to “The Mark of the Beast”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

