Spam, we comin’ for you

10Jan07

Ongoing spam-related problems have kept me from moderating comments for the last few days, so apologies to the couple of legitimate commenters whose postings have been delayed. No apologies to the spammers who keep flooding me with the same handful of messages in bulk. I did notice a new variety pop up recently, though. The message will be something like “More or less nothing seems important to me lately. I’ve just been letting everything happen without me.” And then I’ll look to see who the obviously clinically depressed commenter is in case I have to call a suicide hotline to noitify them of an impending emergency, and the username will be something like “Tug Jobs”. Disturbing.

The good news is that Jay is on the case, working to fix the spam situation once and for all with a new image verification system. With luck, spam will be eliminated, and legitimate comments will be posted immediately instead of languishing in the junk message folder until I have time to sift through it.

Meanwhile, check out this video Jay and I enjoyed, in which Booker T delivers a blustering interview culminating in calling Hulk Hogan a “nigga” and then immediately winces and looks sick with shame after realizing what he’s just said, burying his face in his hands briefly before regaining his composure. Live TV at its best.

Update: By Jove, I think Jay’s got it! Commenting should be easy and instantaneous from now on.



2 Responses to “Spam, we comin’ for you”

  1. 1 Tug Jobs

    Good luck with the spam killing Pete & Jay. I hope it works out.

  2. I think it has! I just checked out my comments, and there was no spam whatsoever, even in the junk filter.


Leave a Reply

