It’s a Tank-Top Tuesday!

23Jan07

At the risk of turning this into a video blog, I thought this was worth sharing, as I laughed quite hard at it today.

Yet, that reaction was nothing compared to my reaction to seeing this picture of NBA player Sam Cassell earlier, which I found in a WrestlingClassics forum thread called “Ugliest World Champ?” while browsing for news about the late “Bam Bam” Bigelow (it’s worth checking out for some amazingly hideous pictures of the “French Angel,” Maurice Tillet):

I’m not entirely sure why, but I laughed until tears flowed and I couldn’t breathe. And every time I wondered why I was laughing so hard, I just laughed harder. I couldn’t stop, and I didn’t know why. It went on forever, and I was left with aching sides. It was the same reaction I’d had when I saw that picture of Tie Domi and the Goomba and the picture of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle referred to in that post. There’s just something about a goofy, grinning face that does this to me, I guess.

Speaking of world champions and ninja turtles, there’s a TV commercial for an upcoming monster-truck rally currently airing that loudly blares the following list of participants: “Batman! Superman! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle! And world champion Grave Digger!” I’m not sure what Grave Digger is actually world champion of, except for flipping upside down and snapping in half, which is all I’ve ever seen it reliably do, but I do kind of find it funny that we are apparently expected to accept that Batman, Superman, and a single Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle have somehow been embodied as monster trucks.



No Responses Yet to “It’s a Tank-Top Tuesday!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

