Ghost Dad 2

30Apr07

A recent commenter asked about my old Golden Words pal Adrienne Hurst, and reading a random Bill Cosby reference today reminded me of this incident:

When Adrienne was editing our university humour paper in early 1997, a poster for the 1990 Bill Cosby supernatural fatherhood comedy Ghost Dad was hanging in the GW Lounge to furnish viewers with a sense of ironic appreciation. Tragically, Cosby’s son Ennis was murdered in January of that year in a roadside armed robbery. Early one Sunday shortly afterward, I sneaked into the office before Adrienne arrived and stuck some handwritten edits on the poster. Upon arriving and seeing what I’d done, Adrienne got so furious that she tore the poster off the wall.

Thanks to a little work in Photoshop, I now present an improved version of my new poster for a possible Ghost Dad sequel.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I’m sorry, Dr. Cosby.



5 Responses to “Ghost Dad 2

  1. 1 Milo

    I’ve been a longtime reader, but never felt the need to comment. But now…Wow. You rock.

  2. 2 Travis

    That is amazing. I laughed so hard I expectorated my soda all down the front of my Levis. Your poster reminds me of a segment on Conan O’Brien where they fabricated poorly marketed products. One of them showed a happy transparent child in a swimming pool, with the caption, “Timmy says: This is the above ground pool I died in”. I love you.

  3. 3 Zbu

    Oh, that rocks.

  4. 4 Matt

    Good lord. That photo comic with Theo is next, isn’t it?


  1. 1 Ghost Dad (1990) | Old Old Films

Leave a Reply

