How much do bank tellers make, anyway? (pt 2.)

31May07

Ever since I wrote this entry a couple of years ago, “how much do bank tellers make” or some permutation of those words has consistently been among the top twenty search strings by which people find this blog. (Currently, I come up as the fifth result in a Google search.) I apologize to the disappointed web users who have failed to find any hard numbers at this website. I also apologize for hijacking the search results even further with this similarly titled entry while providing no further help.

This afternoon, I went down to the bank to deposit a cheque. As it was in US funds, I took it to the teller instead of going through the ATM. The teller looked at it with some annoyance. “How often do you get these cheques?”

“Now and then. Intermittently,” I said. “Why do you ask?”

“Because we normally have a 15-day waiting period for it to clear.”

“Okay,” I said.

She thought about it for a moment. “I’ll let it through this time. But from now on, remember there’s a 15-day waiting period.”

“Okay, thanks,” I said.

The odd thing, to me, is that I’d made no indication of being in any particular hurry to get my hands on the cash. I didn’t really mind waiting a few days. So it’s hard to see why she felt the need to scold me about my unrealistic expectations and/or lack of proper procedure or why she’d act like she was doing me any big favours. All she really proved is that I probably wouldn’t much want to date her.

Then again, she had my bank balance sitting right in front of her, which probably proved that she wouldn’t much want to date me either.



3 Responses to “How much do bank tellers make, anyway? (pt 2.)”

  1. Dude, that’s why she was scolding you. It wasn’t your fictional expectations. It was your bank balance. She was just too embarrassed to say it in as many words, so she instead aimed for the available target.

  2. OHHHH SHIIIIIIIIIIIIT!

  3. 3 B

    Zing! Either that or you unwittingly had a “the liquor store was closed” look about you.


Leave a Reply

