I don’t mind you being a telemarketer; what I hate is a quitter

01Jun07

When did telemarketers stop being so persistent?

Just now, I got a call from a lady offering a free trial subscription to a local newspaper. I said I couldn’t use it, and she just thanked me and hung up. I never even got the chance to say I couldn’t use the newspaper because I couldn’t read.

A few weeks ago, I got a call from a lady at a dance studio offering a free lesson. I said I wasn’t interested, and she just mumbled a dejected thank-you and hung up. She didn’t push me at all, and I never got the chance to say I wasn’t interested because I didn’t have any legs.

I used to get to spin an outrageous web of lies to get rid of you, telemarketers. I enjoyed that. It was a lot of fun. What happened to the hard sell? You give up too easily.



No Responses Yet to “I don’t mind you being a telemarketer; what I hate is a quitter”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

