Obviously, mirror-universe Gary Cherone would still suck

13Sep07

Goatee-related japery aside, the most obvious gag to be made about a mirror-universe version of myself is that he’d actually be the good one, thus making me the evil twin.

But this isn’t really accurate. While a Captain Kirk might be such a paragon of heroic virtue that his doppelgänger couldn’t help but be a raving caricature of insane malevolence, most people are a shade more grey. Most probably fall midway between the poles of good and evil, maybe a little more on one side than the other, but likely not approaching either extreme. Like anyone, I have my virtues as well as my vices. It’s probably a fairly even balance — not too good or too evil, not too lawful or too chaotic. My alignment is pretty neutral. So I can’t imagine my mirror universe self being really that different.

We’d probably get along pretty well, in fact. The only thing I can really see us disagreeing on would be his insistence on the superiority of Sammy Hagar-era Van Halen versus my staunch defence of the original lineup. Of course, in the mirror universe, Sammy Hagar would actually be cooler and rock harder than David Lee Roth, so in fact, we’d both be right.



3 Responses to “Obviously, mirror-universe Gary Cherone would still suck”

  1. 1 Kitty

    what the fuck are you talking about, Pet?
    also Toyota Corolla almost died this week. I think it’s about time you paid me some attention.

  2. 2 Peter Lynn

    Poor Kitty. I was just thinking I’d been ignoring you dreadfully. But what happened?!

  3. 3 Kitty

    send me an e-mail and I’ll consider telling you. writing a comment on your own blog hardly counts as attention, does it? I may have to hand in my membership of the ‘Everybody loves Peter Lynn!’ club.


Leave a Reply

