Uni Watch

22Sep07

I’m going to play Paul Lukas for a minute here: I’ve been watching a little preseason hockey and getting my first exposure to the new NHL uniforms. I don’t hate them. But there is one little thing that bugs me: the way the bottom of the jersey is cut. It’s not straight, but dips in the front and back and rises up on the sides, by the hips. I finally put my finger on what it reminds me of: the leisurewear-like uniform tunics worn by Starfleet personnel in Star Trek: The Motion Picture. All that’s missing is the belt, and maybe some pointy sideburns for Sidney Crosby. Compare:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket



7 Responses to “Uni Watch”

  1. 1 Scott

    Have you actually attended a preseason game? If not, how have you been watching?

  2. 2 Peter Lynn

    It turns out I have Leafs TV. I’m not sure if this is just a preseason thing or not.

  3. 3 Marlene

    I just think think the bottoms look sloppy, like an un-tucked dress shirt.

  4. 4 Peter Lynn

    That’s probably because the original plan was to tuck the jerseys in, which would have looked even worse.

  5. 5 Candace

    You’re like the sartorialist of sports uniforms… and Star Trek uniforms. *shudder*

  6. 6 hilly

    I thought “Uni Watch” had something to do with unicorns. Obviously I’ve been too embroiled lately in the Pokemon escapades of my fiancée’s students and desperately need to watch some film noir or something.

  7. 7 Mark S.

    As long as we don’t start getting the Picard bulge in the NHL. Well, on second thought………………


Leave a Reply

