You’re Gonna Miss Me

27Jun08

Yesterday, I was doing a little after-hours work on a secret project, which, fittingly, took place on the 13th floor of the client’s building. I didn’t even think most building had a 13th floor, or if they did, it was a secret floor that didn’t even have a button on the elevator panel, but was instead accessed by pressing the 12th and 14th floor buttons simultaneously.

My unlucky 13th floor experience included having the air conditioning shut off after working hours are over. Then, when I tried to wash my hands before leaving, I got only a dribble of soap out of the automatic soap dispenser, and the automatic tap wouldn’t give me any water at all. I briefly considered using the water in the toilet tank (which is clean) to rinse my soapy hands off , but when I opened the stall door, I saw that the toilet had no tank. I decided not to approach closer to investigate any further, since I thought that maybe the automatic flush mechanism had been shut down for the night too, and there might be an unwelcome surprise waiting for me in the bowl.

Then, when I got in the elevator, there weren’t any lights on, and I rode down 13 floors in pitch blackness, wondering if I’d be stuck in there overnight. Very eerie. The doors opened when I got to the bottom, thankfully, but when I tested the front doors of the building, I was locked in. Thankfully, I was able to escape through a side door.



4 Responses to “You’re Gonna Miss Me”

  1. 1 jtl

    Aha! I get it. “You’re Gonna Miss Me,” by the 13th Floor Elevators.

    Good work.

  2. 2 Rupert Dogstein

    You’re pretty blasé about your secret after hours project.

  3. 3 Peter Lynn

    JTL: Well done yourself on getting the reference!

    Rupert: There’s not much to say, really. I go and sit alone in a room and do sudoku puzzles and drink coffee for five hours. I’m pretty sure I’m part of a psychological experiment.


  1. 1 A thousand of one, a thousand of another « Man vs. Clown!

Leave a Reply

