A-Hole Ronald

18Sep08

Ever since reading about it, I’ve wanted to see this. But I thought it was lost, until I was pointed in the right direction via a thread on lost footage at the A Special Thing forum.

By the way, this is the first time in ages a YouTube video has worked for me. No matter what browser I use, I’ve usually been getting a couple of seconds with no sound before the video freezes. But when I started up Opera today, this was in an open tab and I was surprised to hear it playing. I thought maybe my Flash player was broken, but reinstalling didn’t really help. Also, the sounds for many programs, such as MSN/Trillian, haven’t been working. (But MP3s and games have been working fine.) Now everything is working again. But for how long? Any ideas on what the problem is (or was) and how to fix it if it stops working again as suddenly as it mysteriously fixed itself? Or should I just take advantage of my momentary good luck and ditch everything today to watch all the videos I’ve bookmarked for when I could watch them?

Update: And YouTube is now broken for me again. What gives?



6 Responses to “A-Hole Ronald”

  1. Dude, if you’re using Vista that’s a really common problem. It happened to me a while back and got to the point where I had to do a system restore to get my soundcard back working. If this is happening since a Windows update, then that’s probably the cause. There’s plenty of advice online. If you use a mac, then I apologize for wasting your time.

  2. Thanks. I’m still on XP. I’m hesitant to move to Vista for reasons such as this. (I believe my dad is still using Windows 3.1 on one of his old machines because of the problems with the newer operating systems, actually.) I suspected that a Windows update might be at fault. I’ll pursue that line of investigation again. Meanwhile, if anyone has specific advice for an easy fix, I’m all ears.

  3. 3 Eric

    You Tube works great on the Wii. Just get one of those, and you’re all set.

  4. 4 Tyler

    I have this problem with firefox as well. Clearing cache and cookies will let your videos work again until you run into another bad one. I have no better solution to offer.

  5. 5 John M

    Dude… you have a Spore in there…

  6. 6 Teaflax

    Just install the Flash 10 Beta. That solved the problem for me (Firefox/Vista).


Leave a Reply

