Maybe you should wash those towels

13Oct08

At my girlfriend’s parents’ house, where I visited for the first time this Thanksgiving, you have to hold the handle after you use the facilities to make sure that everything is safely whisked away.

“The toilet exploded,” I said to my girlfriend as I returned to the living room.

“Tell me you’re kidding,” she said, her voice flat as she studied my face.

“I am,” I admitted. “I didn’t want to risk clogging the toilet, so I sat on the edge of the bathtub and went in there. Then, I ran the water to get rid of it, but some of it kind of floated around instead of going down the drain. So, I took off my sock and kind of tamped it down the drain with my foot. Then I dried off my foot on the towels and put my sock back on.”

She relaxed and smiled back. “Look at how proud you are! Look at that smile. That’s your I’m-so-proud-of-myself face.”

“Yeah,” I said. “Maybe you should throw those towels in the laundry.”



8 Responses to “Maybe you should wash those towels”

  1. You should know that this post caused one of the most crippling “what the shit?” moments of my adult life. It’s actually still going on right now. Thanks for that.

  2. 2 Kitty

    Oh Pet, you are so special. Your girlfriend is even more special, though.

  3. 3 Eric

    Schroed: What, the shit?

  4. 4 Ken

    I have a request! I’ve always loved the various playlists you’ve concocted and posted here on MvC! And I have a Halloween party coming up… If you were to make a Hallooween soundtrack, of what would it consist?

  5. 5 Peter Lynn

    Ken, that is a very good idea for a playlist/blog entry. Let me work on that, and maybe I can come up with something by the end of the week.

  6. 6 Scott

    Pete, I got two fantastic “LOL” moments out of this post.

    1. “The toilet exploded,” I said to my girlfriend as I returned to the living room.
    2. “I didn’t want to risk clogging the toilet, so I sat on the edge of the bathtub and went in there.

    And Candace, when I read “Tell me you’re kidding,” I thought I should tell you that even when he is kidding there’s usually at least a nugget of truth in there.

    hee hee… nugget.

  7. 7 Ken

    Sweet. I’m looking forward to it!


  1. 1 There’s nothing like a quiet lake in the still of autumn « Man vs. Clown!

Leave a Reply

