Gullible night in Canada

27Oct08

For me, the most surprising thing about this week’s broadcast of Hockey Night in Canada was not that Don Cherry managed to not butcher George Stroumboulopoulos’s surname as badly as expected during a discussion of Sean Avery’s recent interview on The Hour (Cherry went with something like “Strobopolous”, where I’d been betting he’d say “Snuffleupagus”) or that Cherry uttered the surprising phrase “Every time you get near a guy, bang him!” (Actually, this might not be that surprising when you consider his physically demonstrated man-love for Doug Gilmour.) It was that my girlfriend (who in fairness, was overtired) seemed prepared to believe just about anything I said.

For instance, there was a brief promo for Rick Mercer’s upcoming interview with the perpetually grimacing former prime minister Paul Martin, who recently wrote his memoirs. “Did you know that Paul Martin outed Rick Mercer in his book?” I asked.

“Really?”

“Yeah,” I said. “I guess Mercer was interviewing him, and then Mercer’s cell phone went off and he had this ugly fight with his boyfriend.”

“Wow!”

“And then Mercer was all upset, and Martin gave him a hug to console him. And that’s when Mercer made a pass at him and tried to kiss him.”

“Paul Martin? Really?”

“No,” I said. “Not really.”

Later, as the Oilers-Canucks game began, the reception suddenly got bad, making the announcer sound all metallic and echoey, like a Dalek. “Oh, that’s the new robot the CBC hired,” I said.

“Really?” she said, straightening up. “Move out of the way. I want to see the robot.”

“He’s supposed to be really good with statistics,” I added.

But it wasn’t a robot at all. It was just Scott Oake, who does lack a basic understanding of human feelings, but only because he’s a dipshit, not because he’s a robot. (My girlfriend did like his new glasses, though.)



2 Responses to “Gullible night in Canada”

  1. 1 Scott

    I hope a Dalek is one of those robots from Doctor Who because that’s what I compared Scott Oake to when he came on. I, too, told everyone in the room that CBC had hired a robot.

    Also, I’m not happy that you reminded me of that game.

  2. 2 MC

    The Rick Mercer thing… priceless.


Leave a Reply

