Thinking Day

11Nov08

Unlike my Christmas shopping, I got all my Remembrance Day remembering done early this year. I read Stephen Ambrose’s Band of Brothers in October. I remembered how I expected Damian Lewis to become a huge star after his portrayal of Major Dick Winters, and I’m happy to see he now has steady TV work on Life. I remembered how surprisingly good David Schwimmer was in the miniseries as major dick Herbert Sobel, even if I did occasionally expect him to yell, “We were on a furlough!”

I never knew my grandfathers, so I never got to hear their stories. I just had the GIs I saw in movies and Sgt. Rock comics, who seemed like grizzled old veterans when I was a kid. but reading Band of Brothers as a thirtysomething, I was continually struck by how young they were.

I remember my stepbrother Sean as a kid seven years younger than me. Yet suddenly he’s not only a handsome and strong young man but a grizzled old veteran too, with shrapnel in his knee and impaired hearing from a tank explosion that killed one or two of his comrades. I had the honour of visiting the War Museum in Ottawa and then waging war on an all-you-can-eat buffet with Sean during the Christmas holidays last year, but I sure wouldn’t want to do a couple of tours in Afghanistan like he did.

He’s younger than I am, but he’s my hero and I’m glad to have him back. I’m thinking of him today, but I’m glad I don’t have to just remember him.



3 Responses to “Thinking Day”

  1. 1 Candace

    *wipes tear*

  2. 2 Adrienne

    Aww, Pete! This is further proof that people are not, in fact, bastard-coated bastards with bastard filling.

  3. I fear this post is court-ordered “be nice or heartwarming” community service work.


Leave a Reply

