The part of Mincer was already taken

17Dec08

“So, I think one of the kids in my Grade Two class is gay,” said my girlfriend.

“Why?” I asked.

“Well, he’s really dramatic in the way he talks, and his gestures.”

“So he’s a bit of a drama queen. That doesn’t necessarily mean anything.”

“And he doesn’t ever play sports at recess.”

“Well, I didn’t really either. Lots of boys don’t.”

“And he’s really artistic. He colour-coordinates everything in his artwork. And his desk is so neat!”

“So? I was artistic and neat too.”

“And he loves dancing and singing. And he’s really good too.”

“Well, good for him.”

“He loves singing show tunes.”

“Ah.”

“And when he got a part in the Christmas pageant as a reindeer, he got really excited and specifically said, ‘I want to be Prancer!'”

“Okay, I see what you mean.”



2 Responses to “The part of Mincer was already taken”

  1. 1 Mully

    Maybe he is gay because the class is such a “sausage fest”

    Brings the whole nature/nurture thing into question, doesn’t it.

  2. 2 Candace

    Yesterday, he brought a My Little Pony to school. Today it was a plastic unicorn. I love that kid.


Leave a Reply

