My girlfriend, who is not normally an idiot, has only a passing familiarity with hockey, beer, and possibly dogs

03Jan09

Me: Hey, it’s Bob McKenzie, the guy you think looks like Dave Coulier. But Bob McKenzie’s funnier than Dave Coulier, and he’s not even trying to be. Bob McKenzie doesn’t even tell jokes.

Candace: Dave Coulier is a hack, but Bob McKenzie is more obnoxious.

Me: What? Cut-it-out! Bob McKenzie is awesome. He goes on the hockey message boards and really burns people sometimes, which you wouldn’t expect a commentator to do. Then the next page is just people saying, “Man, you’re awesome, Bob McKenzie?”

Candace: Oh, I was thinking of Don Cherry. I got him mixed up because his dog is Spuds Mackenzie.

Me: Oh, right.

Candace: His dog is Spuds Mackenzie, right?

Me: No. Don Cherry’s dog is Blue.

Candace: Oh. But there’s a beer named Blue.

Me: Right.

Candace: But Bob Mackenzie likes beer, right?

Me: I’m sure he does. But I think you’re thinking of the other Bob McKenzie. Bob and Doug McKenzie.

Candace: Right. No wonder I get them mixed up. I sure am a hoser. What kind of beer did Spuds Mackenzie even advertise? It wasn’t Blue, right?

Me: I think it was Bud Light.

Candace: Man, I’m stupid tonight! I got everything mixed up!



One Response to “My girlfriend, who is not normally an idiot, has only a passing familiarity with hockey, beer, and possibly dogs”

  1. 1 Jason

    I think you may be dating the reincarnation of Lou Costello.


Leave a Reply

