Here are some links

05Feb09

It’s better than last week, when I cut my finger on crème brûlée and couldn’t type, but I’ve been fighting a cold all this week, with symptoms including congestion, runny nose, sneezing, hearing impairment, lethargy, stupidity, and partial loss of will to live. While I convalesce, here are some links for you to look at:

  • My girlfriend and I plan to marry Sarah Haskins, who makes hilarious videos for Current. I was going to make a joke here that I planned to then have affairs with YouTube darlings Natalie Tran and Karen Alloy, but I think I would be in trouble if I did.
  • On the other hand, having mentioned him a few times in the past, I may have to confess to having a bit of a fixation on Maxime Talbot of the Pittsburgh Penguins. It occurs to me that I haven’t linked to the self-proclaimed superstar’s sequel to his original car commercial, but what I really dig is this video for Max Talbot, Womanizer, set to the Britney Spears original. I didn’t think it would get better than the cover by Lily Allen, but there you go.
  • The second-most intriguing transit-related news in the last little while is the news that Toronto City Council has gotten behind the previously back-burnered plan to build a Downtown Relief Line. The most intriguing revelation is the disturbingly phallic map of Mississauga Transit route 47.
  •  This repository of secret rock knowledge should keep you going for a while. It’s not where I learned about the Buddy Holly/Little Richard/Angel Lee ménage à trois (which probably should have stayed secret), but there’s plenty of dirt there nonetheless.
  • And lastly, I literally choked on my coffee watching these Star Trek: TNG mashups. A poster at Metafilter points out the similarity between these and Eric Fensler’s G.I. Joe PSA parodies, and I agree. They make me laugh the same way: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 


7 Responses to “Here are some links”

  1. 1 MC

    I want Karen Alloy to be my internet gf. I don’t care that she is carrying another man’s baby… I’d raise it as my own, I would.

  2. 2 Scott

    I’m going to check out those whatchies that are like fenslerfilm. I’m holding you personally responsible for my reaction.

  3. 3 Scott

    Absolutely brilliant! You get full marks for this one, Lynn.

  4. 4 Steve Ely

    Man, I love the TNG stuff, but I’m pissed I have to sign up for a youtube account to watch #10.

  5. It’s annoying. But you can log in with your Gmail account, if you have one. Even if you don’t use Gmail, it seems like there are ample reasons to get a Google account. I use mine all the time for custom Google maps, and now, for YouTube.

  6. 6 Suzie hearts Toronto

    Okay, did you honestly cut yourself on crème brûlée SO BADLY that you couldn’t type? FOR SERIOUS? I don’t know if my respect levels for you have gone up or down.

  7. Up, if at all possible.


Leave a Reply

