Movin’ on up to the east side

07Apr09

I regret to inform you that as of May 1, there will almost certainly be no more stories about Brain-Damaged Toula on this blog. I posted that notice on Facebook a couple of days ago, and someone immediately suggested I throw a going away/moving out party and liveblog it, as I did with Toula’s Christmas party. “How does she know it’s not a murder party?” asked my girlfriend after reading that comment.

As it happens, I’m not killing Toula, but rather, finally moving on up out of this house and into a deluxe apartment with my girlfriend. This should resolve our various debates, which involve arguments such as “You have to do what I say because I’m a guest” and “You have to do what I say because I pay the rent”, depending on who is visiting whom at any given time. Of course, our deluxe apartment will only be about three blocks to the east side of my current abode (and only on the second floor rather than in the sky). So chances are we’ll be invited to drop by Toula’s future parties. But, as Morrissey said, I would rather not go back to the old house. So don’t bank on another liveblog.

So, right now, we’re furnishing the new place and scoring the occasional great deal on Craigslist. (It’s awesome: My girlfriend picks out what she wants at IKEA and then turns around and finds the same item used on Craigslist for half price.) One thing we’re not going to get is the couch in the following ad (which is kind of ugly), although the ad copy itself is so awesome we’re tempted to buy something from this guy:

Couch/Sofa for rock and rollers – $100 (Dundas & Ossington)

This is your basic sketchy used couch. Got it from Value Village when I moved here because it met all the used couch requirements: cheap, clean (enough), comfortable for sitting and for sleeping over on, light enough to move easily, and it doesn’t make my eyes bleed to look at it. Fabric could best be described as velour, I guess. The colour doesn’t show up very well in the couch pictures but it looks like what you see in the chair picture. Dark/mid-grey.

When we moved it into our place, something fell out the bottom and skittered across the floor. The ‘something’ turned out to be a used fake nail with a rolling stones mouth painted on it. Totally disgusting! But also totally sweet! Clearly this couch is for people who like to rock.

As you can see, there is a matching chair available. The chair is super comfortable and has an upgrade: some one has glued a lazy susan to the bottom so it spins. Rad-tastic. I think whoever buys these should consider doing the same thing to the couch.

$100 for the couch, $50 for the chair, or $125 for the set. I’m not actually moving ’til mid-May so these won’t be available for pick up until late April/early May. Or maybe you could take the couch and get the chair later. We could work something out.



3 Responses to “Movin’ on up to the east side”

  1. 1 KD

    The fact that something “skittered” across this dude’s floor from inside the couch had me creeped out. A fake fingernail is gross but at least it didn’t have legs.
    Anyway, congrats on moving in together.

  2. 2 Stocc

    Whatever couch you do eventually decide to get, I can’t wait to sleep over on it beneath that disgusting Fido Dido blanket.

  3. 3 Marlene

    It can’t be worse than that brown thing we had on Collingwood Street.


Leave a Reply

