I love you, John Hughes

06Aug09

It’s always tragic when a parent outlives his child. I’m halfway through reading I Love You, Beth Cooper, a book with an obvious debt to the 1980s teen comedies of director John Hughes. Though it reads like it was written expressly to be turned into a film, it’s not bad and is apparently much better than the film it was in fact turned into. I Love You, Beth Cooper in fact died at the box office, and today, not long after this apparent repudiation of the film genre that made him famous, John Hughes himself died.

If you came of age in the 1980s, the coming-of-age comedies of John Hughes probably helped you get here, or at least left at least some small impression on you. For instance, Matt Blair notes, “I sincerely think that ‘Life moves pretty fast; if you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it’ belongs on a tombstone.”  It’s too bad Hughes’ death came so suddenly; a lingering illness would at least given us a chance to get mileage out of another quote from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off: “Shit, I hope he doesn’t die. I can’t handle summer school.”

But what we can write on Hughes’ tomestone is this: The sportos, the motorheads, geeks, sluts, bloods, wasteoids, dweebies, dickheads — they all adored him. They thought he was a righteous dude.

* * *

With the possible exceptions of Quentin Tarantino and Cameron Crowe, no director that I can think of could put together a soundtrack quite so well as Hughes. A few years back, I compiled some of my favorite tracks from the classic teenage film comedies that he made between 1984 and 1987 in an attempt to make the ultimate “Best of John Hughes” compilation. Download it here, and don’t you forget about him.



9 Responses to “I love you, John Hughes”

  1. 1 Keith

    I haven’t checked the Netflix top 100 lists in a while, but it would be interesting to see how many John Hughes movies have jumped to the top.

  2. Not Maid in Manhattan, I hope.

    That reminds me: With the remake of the Peckinpah classic coming up, this isn’t a bad time to note that Home Alone was already a remake of Straw Dogs, only, with a cute kid and played for laughs.

  3. 3 Scott

    Sam Fuckin’ Peckinpah!

  4. Man, John Hughes did a lot in his time but if I had to choose one it’d be Pretty In Pink.

    Sure, Ducky was in it..oh well. He wrote them St Bernard movies too.

    By the way, I’d rather Cameron Crowe than Quentin Tarantino.

    Have a good day man!

  5. Did I tell you I’ve written a poem every day for the last 221 days? I have.

    Also, pretty sure you missed my awesome comment on your post “Don’t even fucking think about it!” which I remembered when I logged into my photobucket account today.

  6. 6 Elizabeth

    Can I borrow the book when you’re finished?

  7. 7 Peter Lynn

    It was a library book! And it’s already been returned!

    • 8 Elizabeth

      Darn it! But I guess I can head over the library if you think the book is worth reading.

  8. Don Johnson jackets,Flock of Seagulls hair, and Boy George music.
    Thats what I think of when I think of the eighties.
    And no, that is not a personal experience, only observational.


Leave a Reply

