This is like the time Hal Johnson pulled a “Do you know who I am?” in a health-food store when the clerk wouldn’t give him free swag, and the clerk said, “Yeah, you’re that idiot from Body Break.”

25Nov10

I really wanted to shout “That’s what she said!” yesterday when my dentist said “Every time I come in your mouth, you gag!” but I couldn’t because I was too busy gagging. However, I did get to hear this story while my mouth was full:

Over the weekend, she went to the food and wine expo. As she got there, a guy came down the escalator in a huff, telling her not to bother; the line-up to get in was insane. When she got up the escalator, she saw that this was indeed so. She called the friend whom she was supposed to meet to say that the mission was aborted but she’d wait to meet her outside.

Another guy standing in front of her turned and said, “Stick with me; I’ll get you in.” All right, she said.

He looked at her for a moment with a smirk. “You don’t know who I am, do you?” he asked. No idea, she said. Who?

“I’ll just let you figure that out,” he smirked.

As he led her forward, it became evident that he must have been someone, because he breezed right into the expo, pausing only to soak up reactions of awe and sign autographs. As this went on, those waiting their turn to gasp in awe and collect autographs asked her if she was part of his entourage.

“Did you figure out who I am?” he finally asked, posing in front of a large poster of himself.

Though she’d obviously done the equivalent of failing to recognize Bob Vila at a home-improvement expo, she said that she hadn’t.

“I’m David Adjey,” he boasted.

(“Who?” I asked at this point in her recounting of the incident. Exactly, she said. Some big deal on the Food Network, apparently. A big fish in a small pond at the food and wine expo, clearly.)

“So now that I got you in,” he leered, “what are you going to do for me?”

“Nothing,” she said, and walked off.

So the moral, I guess, is that reality show chefs sometimes have enormous egos, but maybe you knew that already.



2 Responses to “This is like the time Hal Johnson pulled a “Do you know who I am?” in a health-food store when the clerk wouldn’t give him free swag, and the clerk said, “Yeah, you’re that idiot from Body Break.””

  1. Ugh… I’ve long maintained that “Don’t you know who I am?” is basically the most insufferable question that one human being can ask another.

    Like, if you’re at the point of asking it, then it’s good that you’re in a situation in which you feel it has to be asked.

  2. 2 Soapy

    I thought you originally wrote “Hal Jordan” and I was trying to figure out why the Green Lantern would need free health food swag. Nerd!


Leave a Reply

