Foggy Mountain Communication Breakdown

14Mar11

After the first time I took a solo in “Foggy Mountain Breakdown”, Earl Scruggs just smiled politely, although I thought his face looked a bit tighter than usual. But the next time I stepped forward with my kazoo, everyone just kind of played louder and I didn’t really get a chance to go again.



2 Responses to “Foggy Mountain Communication Breakdown”

  1. 1 jason

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s been obsessed with Foggy Mountain Breakdown lately. This clip just slays me — there’s a shit-ton of musical talent on that stage, legends of country music up there to play a 20-second solo. (Also, it’s weird to think that Paul Shaffer has, y’know, chops… for the past 30 years he’s been Artie Fufkin and a semi-annoying sidekick.)

    • 2 Peter Lynn

      Well, Paul Shaffer not only was the original musical director of the Blues Brothers but also wrote “It’s Raining Men.” If that doesn’t establish his credentials, I don’t know what does.

      As for “Foggy Mountain Breakdown,” I like to think that in musician heaven, they have Foggy Mountain Breakdown Fridays, where the great deceased bluegrass musicians just jam all day and nod appreciatively when other great virtuosos drop by and contribute solos, such as Jimi Hendrix, Franz Liszt, Niccolò Paganini, Gene Krupa, and, of course, Le Pétomane.


Leave a Reply

