Monologue #4

05Apr11

I know what you’re thinking. Did he fire six shots or only five? Well, to tell you the truth, in all this excitement, I’ve kinda lost track myself. But being as this is a .44 Magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world, and would blow your head clean off, you’ve got to ask yourself one question: “Do I feel lucky?” Well, I’ve been walking onto ball fields for sixteen years, and I’ve never received anything but kindness and encouragement from you fans. I have had the great honor to have played with these great veteran ballplayers. I’ve been given fame and undeserved praise by the boys up there behind the wire in the press box, my friends, the sportswriters. I’ve worked under the two greatest managers of all time. I have a mother and father who fought to give me health and a solid background in my youth. I have a wife, a companion for life, who has shown me more courage than I ever knew. People all say that I’ve had a bad break. But today … today I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth.



No Responses Yet to “Monologue #4”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

