X-mas IX

10Dec11

For several years now, my girlfriend has virtually forced me to continue my tradition of putting together an annual Christmas mix to share with the world. This is no longer true. For one thing, she is no longer my girlfriend, but rather, is now my fianceé. And for another, she couldn’t care less anymore if the world gets to hear it, so long as she does. She’d be happy to keep it all to herself, in fact. And it preferably wouldn’t include anything other than Lady GaGa songs, and none of them really would actually need to be about Christmas. And why am I sharing things with the world anyway, she shouts from the other room,when I could be sitting on the couch, watching Elf for the eleventh time and drinking Young’s Double Chocolate Stout?

And I must admit she has a point, because Young’s Double Chocolate Stout does have a 98% rating at Ratebeer.com. So let me just say quickly that, as usual, this clocks in at just under 80 minutes, a suitable length for burning to a CD if you should be so inclined. And, as some of this is recorded from less than ideal sources from the perspective of the audiophile, volume levels may vary, so adjust your preference to equalize such things on playback and/or feedback. As for fidelity, this is probably not enjoyed best through earphones, but rather, on the stereo, in the background, surrounded by friends and family — the way Christmas music is always meant to be enjoyed.

Here is the track list:

  1. The Beach Boys – “Santa Claus Is Coming to Town (vocal sessions)”
  2. The Raveonettes – “Come On Santa”
  3. Glo-Worm – “Holiday”
  4. The Magnetic Fields – “Everything Is One Big Christmas Tree”
  5. Coldplay – “Christmas Lights”
  6. The Killers – “The Cowboy’s Christmas Ball”
  7. My Morning Jacket – “Christmas Must Be Tonight”
  8. Shelby Lynne – “Squat”
  9. Gruff Rhys – “Slashed Wrists This Christmas”
  10. The Pearlfishers – “Blue December (In the City)”
  11. Kayla Williams – “Little Saint Nick”
  12. Sufjan Stevens – “Christmas in the Room”
  13. Sally Shapiro – “Anorak Christmas”
  14. Sofia Talvik – “Christmas”
  15. Vetiver – “Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want to Fight Tonight)”
  16. She and Him – “The Christmas Waltz”
  17. Aimee Mann – “Calling on Mary”
  18. Matt Andersen – “Silent Night”
  19. Catie Curtis – “2000 Miles”
  20. James O’Malley – “You Must Go Home for Christmas”
  21. Badly Drawn Boy – “Do They Know It’s Christmas?”
  22. Beneath Wind and Waves – “The Gift”
  23. Amy Winehouse – “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus”

Get it here.

* * *

In the mood for a little less than eleven more hours of the same? Download links to my previous holiday mixes (detailed here, here, here, here, here, and also here) are still active, so get ’em while they’re hot and the weather outside is cold.

X-mas I (2003)
X-mas II (2004)
X-mas III (2005)
X-mas IV (2006)
X-mas V (2007)
X-mas VI (2008)
X-mas VII (2009)
X-mas VIII (2010)



4 Responses to “X-mas IX”

  1. 1 BSam

    Yes!

  2. 2 Kitty

    I’m looking forward to listening to this, Pet, but I won’t be inflicting it on family/friends; I played one of your earlier ones to my housemates during our house Christmas meal, and they made me turn it off, claiming it was ‘depressing’. Peter Lynn, bringing unfestive feelings to the UK since 2003.


  1. 1 X-mas X « Man vs. Clown!

Leave a Reply

