Bowl of soup

23Dec11

Tuesday morning, I grabbed a large Pyrex container of split pea soup out of my freezer for that day’s lunch. Around noon, I opened it and realized that it was nowhere near defrosting, so I put the lid back on and put it back in its plastic bag. Then the bag ripped and I barely caught it before the Pyrex container hit the floor and cracked, by smashing it into my knee and pinning it there. I put the soup back in the fridge, rubbed the swelling goose egg on my knee, and limped off to the nearby gas station to buy a sandwich.

Wednesday, I was out of the office. Thursday, I ate half the soup for lunch and left the other helping in the fridge for the next day. That afternoon, I got an e-mail from the office manager warning us that the fridge would be cleaned out for the holidays the next day, so I took a note to take lunch a little early the next day and make sure my stuff was out of the way.

This morning, because I was out of milk and time, my wife gave me a couple of cookies to take for breakfast, which I put into a pocket of my briefcase. I later discovered that I now had a briefcase pocket full of powdered sugar, and had to take my wallet out of it and lick it clean. When I limped into the break room for my second cup of coffee around eleven o’clock, I noticed a couple of dishes on the break room table. I dimly remembered a couple of something being there when I’d come for my first cup of coffee, and now I could tell what they were. By the time I came for my third cup, I noticed that one of these dishes was my half-full container of soup.

The fridge clear-out had begun. Before ten o’clock in the morning, as far as I could tell. What kind of lunatic does a fridge clear-out before lunch?

Irate, I returned to my desk and I fired off an email to the office manager to say that I thought the morning was a little early to be doing so and that she’d left my lunch out, and then wished a merry Christmas to her and a happy food poisoning to me. She answered by saying she’d done the clean-out when she’d had time to do it, that my food hadn’t been sitting out long, and that she would happily give me that address of a nearby after-hours clinic.

Still grumpy after an hour, I went to the break room to retrieve my lunch from where I’d re-refrigerated it. On my way by the break room table, I noticed another familiar-looking Pyrex container. The other dish was mine too, I realized. Curious, I cracked it open—and immediately gagged. It was half full of a previous batch of split pea soup I’d evidently brought in sometime in the last few months. The other half was full of green mold.

Pausing to nearly vomit several times, I washed the putrid mix down the sink, declogged the sink of split pea mold, and washed the container several times. I then microwaved my remaining soup, took it back to my desk, and thought about the fact that I was the reason we were doing a fridge clear-out in the first place, as well as the irony of having the same meal again today. I ate about three spoons of it over the next fifteen minutes, then got up and washed the rest of it down the sink too.



No Responses Yet to “Bowl of soup”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

