X-mas X

25Nov12

On November 1, the day after Halloween, Shoppers Drug Mart stores here in Canada began playing Christmas music, which is the most egregious example of Christmas creep that I’ve yet seen. Many agreed; after a heartening backlash from customers, the company agreed to cease and desist the holiday cheer (at least temporarily). Is it still too early for Christmas music? You bet. It’s also too early to put up the tree, but sure enough, ours is up. If I had my druthers (and all I’ve asked for on my Christmas wish list is my druthers), I’d wait until Advent to officially start the Christmas season. I don’t even know what Advent is. My wife is the Catholic in the household, not me. But I know it has the great decency to wait until December to take place. I at least seem to have won the battle to wait until somewhere between American Thanksgiving and the Grey Cup to erect the tree, though it might still be in storage if I hadn’t needed to clean out the closet anyway.

And speaking of cleaning out the closet, here’s my tenth annual CD-length too-early Christmas mix, which contains quite a few songs I’ve been meaning to use, one I thought I had used, and one my wife swore up and down I’d used at least three years ago and went nearly insane trying to prove it. So in the spirit of starting the annual holiday insanity early, here it is:

  1. The Sonics – “Don’t Believe in Christmas”
  2. Cheap Trick – “Come On Christmas”
  3. OK Go – “Father Christmas”
  4. Fountains Of Wayne – “I Want An Alien For Christmas”
  5. Apples in Stereo – “(Baby It’s) So Cold”
  6. Teenage Fanclub – “December”
  7. The Housemartins – “I Smell Winter”
  8. Summer Camp – “All I Wonderful Christmas Is You”
  9. Hawksley Workman – “Common Cold”
  10. Tommy Roe – “It’s Now Winter’s Day”
  11. Brendan Benson – “Merry X-Mas Everybody”
  12. Asobi Seksu – “Merry Christmas (I Don’t Wanna Fight)”
  13. Raveonettes – “Christmas in Cleveland”
  14. Cocteau Twins – “Frosty the Snowman”
  15. Mazzy Star – “Flowers in December”
  16. My Morning Jacket (feat. The Head and the Heart) – “When the Bells Start Ringing”
  17. Whiskeytown – “Houses on the Hill”
  18. Scott Miller – “Christmas in Prison”
  19. Bradley Wik and the Charlatans – “Midwest Winters”
  20. Roman Candle –  “It’s Christmas. Go On and Say Hello”
  21. Beneath Her Parachute – “December Cliche”
  22. Sufjan Stevens – “Sister Winter”
  23. Six by Seven – “I Believe in Father Christmas”
  24. Pearl Jam – “Don’t Believe in Christmas”

Get it here. And if you’re looking for about twelve more hours of the same (and why wouldn’t you be?), the previous compilations (detailed here, here, here, here, here, here, and here) were all knocked offline in this year’s great raid on Megaupload, so here’s a link to all ten compilations in one big Zip file. Enjoy.



One Response to “X-mas X”


  1. 1 X-mas XI | Man vs. Clown!

Leave a Reply

