X-mas XIII

07Dec15

Happy National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day! Here, as usual, is my annual National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day mix of seasonal music. It kicks off with Sammy Kaye’s “Goodbye, Mama (I’m Off to Yokohama)” and frankly, gets kind of racist from there. I’ll put it this way: A lot of Uncle Sam’s dirty little foes are going to get slapped.

Fortunately, we now live in an era of peace without fear of sneak attacks by foreign enemies, so in this spirit of universal concord and collegiality, I’m making this a Christmas mix instead. On the one hand, this one is a little late, as I’d figured on throwing up the download link around the first of December. On the other hand, it’s extremely early, as I’ve had it finished for months and it’s been on heavy rotation in my house for weeks. In fact, the first half of it was done way back in the spring.

(I said all this last year, but when I make a mix, I keep it to 80 minutes or less, since this is what fits on a CD, and the trick to making a mixed CD, I finally realized after the technology became obsolete, is to sequence it like you’re dealing with an even more obsolete technology—vinyl—and pretend you’re making a double album. That means coming up with four “sides” and an opener and a closer for each one. So in this case, this means that if you want to turn off the music after the tenth song, know that you’re staying true to my vision and that it’s a good place to stop. Just like a good place to stop reading this post would have been before you saw an opening parenthesis. Sorry about that. Wow, this was boring!)

Anyway, the point is that my 2015 Christmas mix has been done for ages. In fact, it’s been done so long that I’ve actually completed my 2016 Christmas mix. But you don’t get to hear it. You get this one.

  1. Los Campesinos! – When Christmas Comes
  2. Younghusband – I Don’t Intend to Spend Christmas Without You
  3. Cafeine – Love Disease
  4. Dum Dum Girls – On Christmas
  5. Owl Stretching – F@#k You It’s Christmas
  6. Rosie Thomas – Why Can’t It Be Christmastime All Year
  7. The Both – Nothing Left to Do (Let’s Make This Christmas Blue)
  8. Slow Club – Christmas TV
  9. Cake – The Winter
  10. Grandaddy and Band of Horses – Hang an Ornament
  11. The Rocket Summer – Christmas Madness
  12. The Hopefuls – Holiday
  13. Liz Phair – Ho Ho Ho
  14. Toad the Wet Sprocket – It Doesn’t Feel Like Christmas
  15. Dent May – I’ll Be Stoned for Christmas
  16. Mulled – A Perfect Christmas
  17. Coldplay – Violet Hill
  18. Damien Jurado and Kyle Zantos – Kalla Hus
  19. Dean & Britta with Sonic Boom – He’s Coming Home
  20. Serenades – Come Home
  21. Hey Rosetta! – Carry Me Home

Download it here. Oh, and I was just kidding about the 2016 playlist. Here is that one too.

Previous mixes:
2003 X-mas I
2004 X-mas II
2005 X-mas III
2006 X-mas IV
2007 X-mas V
2008 X-mas VI
2009 X-mas VII
2010 X-mas VIII
2011 X-mas IX
2012 X-mas X
2013 X-mas XI
2014 X-mas XII



No Responses Yet to “X-mas XIII”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

